A Girl Runs in Brooklyn

The Journey of a Thousand Miles Begins with a Single Step

Welcome to My Running Blog!

on January 4, 2014

I planned to start a running blog in 2014. I have been getting pretty into “the running thing” since the summer of 2012 and had some pretty big plans for 2014, and was hoping to bring along with me whoever wanted to come on my journey via this blog. What is this journey that I had planned?

Image

1. The Journey of a Thousand Miles

I decided that I wanted to log at least 1,000 miles this year. This averages out to between 19 and 20 miles per week. Since June of 2013, I generally put in between 20 and 30 miles per week when I wasn’t “tapering” for a race, recovering from a race, or injured, so I figured that this would be an achievable goal for me.

2. Becoming a Half Fanatic

I ran my first half marathon in 2013 and fell in love with the distance. I decided I wanted to keep training for and running them. I know several people who are part of a sort of “club” called the Half Fanatics, which you have to qualify for by running a bunch of half marathons. There are different levels you can get up to but the minimum you need to do to qualify is 3 half marathons within 90 days. I decided I wanted to attempt to qualify for this “club” this year.

3. Qualifying for Guaranteed Entry into the 2015 New York City Marathon

New York Road Runners (NYRR), which is our biggest race organization in NYC, who organizes the NYC Marathon, has a program called the 9+1 program. If you run 9 NYRR races and volunteer at 1 additional race in a year, you get guaranteed entry into the NYC Marathon the following year. Without guaranteed entry you have to try to get in by doing a lottery, and it can take years. If I complete the 9 races and volunteer at the additional race in 2014, I will get to run the 2015 marathon.

4. Coming Back from Injury

This was an unintended goal on my journey, but life happens. I had already planned to start this blog in the new year, but in December I began having problems with my foot. I ran a half marathon on December 8th, and the race went fine and I felt no pain. However, afterwards I could not put any pressure on my left foot without excruciating pain. I went to the doctor and he thought I had a stress fracture. He put me in a soft cast and ordered me to stay off it completely for 3 days, and then walk only in a medical walking boot. I have been in the boot for over 3 weeks now, and have not run a step in almost 4 weeks. After an X-Ray and MRI, it was concluded it was NOT stress fractured, thankfully, but I had a bone contusion (basically a bruised bone) and some damage to a tendon and ligament in that same area. I can start weaning myself off the boot in a few days, and should be able to return to running gradually. An unfortunate way to start my year, and really unfortunate to have to start a running blog when I’m not running , but I have every hope I will be able to get back to it soon and resume my goals!

2 responses to “Welcome to My Running Blog!

  1. whiskybaker says:

    Sound like some awesome goals! I can’t wait to see how you do 🙂

Leave a Reply

