A Girl Runs in Brooklyn

The Journey of a Thousand Miles Begins with a Single Step

Time to Start Regaining Fitness and Strength

on January 5, 2014

I have been injured for 4 weeks. Ever since I ran a half marathon in Central Park on Sunday, December 8th, 2013, my 2nd half marathon- The Frozen Bonsai Half Marathon. The race actually went REALLY WELL. I wasn’t “racing” it for time….I ran the whole thing at the pace I usually run my long runs. Training in between my first half marathon (The Baltimore Half Marathon on 10/12/13), and my 2nd half marathon was not as ideal as I wanted it to be. I ran my first half marathon as fast as I was able to (I finished in 2:21:47 [2 hours, 21 minutes, and 47 seconds] at a 10:49 pace, which considering it was my first and the course was hard I was thrilled with), and so I wanted to give myself some time to recover and run some easier runs. Then I developed some issues with shin splints, so I ended up running lower mileage than I wanted to through November, and wasn’t able to do any runs over 7 miles. So I decided just to take it easy at the December 8th Frozen Bonsai Half. I didn’t want to put too much stress on my body or hurt myself trying to push too hard on non-ideal training. And I THOUGHT I succeeded. I finished the race in 2:32:13, 10.5 minutes slower than my first but not pushing very hard, and finished feeling great with a huge smile on my face. Nothing hurt.

While I am talking about the Frozen Bonsai Half Marathon, here are some pics from the race:

IMG_20131208_084129401IMG_20131208_113548685IMG_20131208_113704701

4482-tursky

Well, nothing hurt…..until AFTER the race that is. I woke up the next morning and could not put any weight on my left heel. The pain was excruciating, and I limped through work all day Monday and it did not get any better. Tuesday I took off work and went to the doctor. He thought I had a stress fractured cuboid bone (bone in the foot right in front of the heel), or possibly a tendon injury, but either way he said the treatment was a LOT OF REST and staying off it as much as possible while I got tests done. So he put me in a soft cast gave me a medical walking boot, and ordered me to stay completely off of the foot, no work or anything, for 3 days and keep the soft cast on.  Then on that Friday I could return to work but limit my walking as much as possible and wear the boot at all times. For exercise he said I could do upper body weights, core work that I could lie on the floor for, and swimming. NO RUNNING, NO STATIONARY BIKE, NO ELLIPTICAL, NO AEROBICS CLASSES, NO YOGA until I received further orders. Swimming was the only cardio I was allowed. Hmph. So I followed his orders and was a very good patient. I found a place to get a few swims in, and  discovered I’m REALLY BAD at swimming. I can swim in a sense that I am not a drowning risk when in water, but I have not done much swimming as an adult, and when I do it usually involves being on vacation and reading a book by the hotel pool, getting really hot and jumping in the pool to cool off. Actually swimming laps, this was new to me. I was happy to be able to get some exercise but I felt like I was too poor of a swimmer to get a really good workout. I also went to the gym a few times and did the upper body weight machines and some core work. With the holidays coming while I was injured though, I kind of just embraced that it was time to rest, enjoy family time, and heal. The results of my X-Ray and MRI concluded that my foot wasn’t fractured but instead had a contusion on one of my bones, and some tendon and ligament inflammation/scarring (but no tears) but the doctor still wanted me in the boot and resting as much as possible.

Here’s my lovely soft cast I was in for 3 days:

IMG_20131211_183230752

And the boot:

IMG_20131210_131143797

And how I got to use one of those motorized carts to get around a grocery store, and how “lovely” my boot really dressed up my Christmas Eve dress:

IMG_20131222_200158195IMG_20131224_231845293

But now, after my appointment yesterday, I am cleared to start weaning off the boot (thank goodness….I hate that thing!), for this coming week only wearing it to work, and next week being done with it completely. I also was cleared to slowly resuming regular exercise!!! He said I can do the bike, elliptical, run….BUT introduce things back slowly, don’t push too hard, and start with the lowest impact stuff and work my way up(aka stationary bike first, running last). So today I went to the gym and got on the stationary bike and got my first real cardio workout in exactly 4 weeks!!! I did 37.5 minutes (a 5 minute easy warm up, about 30 minutes of pushing harder, then about 2.5 minutes to cool down), which apparently was 13.5 miles (it takes me over 2 hours and 20 minutes to run that but less than 40 minutes to bike it….interesting). But just getting on there and breaking a sweat….man…. IT FELT GLORIOUS! I felt out of shape but didn’t even care because I now I know I can work on getting my aerobic base back, leg strength back, and working towards getting back to running again!

IMG_20140105_122948079

7 responses to “Time to Start Regaining Fitness and Strength

  1. sarahdudek80 says:

    Congrats and stay well!

  2. Hope you start feeling better and can get back to running soon!

  3. […] believe I forgot to share a true gem of a picture from my Adventures in the Boot section of this blog entry. On December 28th I attended the Pinstripe Bowl in Yankee Stadium between Rutgers University and […]

  4. […] can’t believe I forgot to share a true gem of a picture from my Adventures in the Boot section of this blog entry. On December 28th I attended the Pinstripe Bowl in Yankee Stadium between Rutgers University and […]

  5. […] And last, the Frozen Bonsai HM, the race right before my foot started to hurt and caused me to take 6 weeks off running (obviously I got injured during the race and never felt it), which I already briefly recapped here. […]

Leave a Reply

