A Girl Runs in Brooklyn

The Journey of a Thousand Miles Begins with a Single Step

A Hodgepodge of Good Things: New Medal Hanger, Volunteering at a Race, New Running Shoes, First Outdoor Run in 7 Weeks

on January 25, 2014

Thursday I had a bad day mentally regarding my injury comeback. I have a half marathon that I am registered to run tomorrow that I had long ago come to terms with having to DNS (“Did Not Start” aka drop out of), but I hadn’t yet made much consideration to races after that one.  I had never let myself dwell on the fact that other races also may not happen, and Thursday 1/23 marked one month til my NEXT scheduled half marathon on 2/23. Even though I am SO EXCITED to be running again PERIOD….my 1.75 miles of 2:00 min run / 1:00 minute walk intervals on the treadmill on Thursday, my longest run since I was injured, just felt pathetic. The day before I ran/walked 1.5 miles on the treadmill, following a 55 minute killer spin class, and felt so happy and over the moon. However, Thursday I ran/walked .25 miles FURTHER and yet was frustrated and sad. Makes sense? NOPE. But I guess that is how recovering from injury goes. Ups and downs both physically and mentally. But it really hit me Thursday….how can I be ready for a half marathon in a month?! Well…..maybe I won’t be. And that is ok. Because this race isn’t my whole running career. But if I push recovery I will miss not only this HM, but many more after it. I started to come to terms with it after the initial sadness and frustration of not only missing my HM on Sunday, but possibly having to miss my 2/23 one too. And then, I got something delivered that I have been anxiously anticipating that really helped me feel better:

Image

My medal hanger!!! It is part of one of my favorite quotes: “If you can’t fly then run, if you can’t run then walk, if you can’t walk then crawl, but whatever you do you have to keep moving forward.” -MLK, Jr. Appropriate, since Monday was MLK day. My dad is coming over tomorrow to help me hang it up and help me create a really cool “running brag wall” that he designed…..so excited!

Today, all the feelings of weakness and frustration disappeared. Today was a great day. Today, I woke up at 6:00am and went to Brooklyn’s Prospect Park in a “feels like” temperature of -4 degrees to spend 5 hours outside volunteering at NYC Runs Brrr-ooklyn Hot Chocolate Half Marathon. I handed out T-shirts before the race and then medals at the finish line. Even though it was freeeeeezing, I had a BLAST! It was so nice to give back to the running community that has given me so much, and I met some awesome people. It was a great time, and the participants got nice tech shirts, mugs for hot chocolate with the race logo on them, and really nice medals. I definitely want to run this next year!

Volunteering “Selfie”:

Image

Really cool participant medals I handed out:

Image

Image

Participant shirts and mugs:

Image

After I finished volunteering, I headed to my favorite little local running store in Park Slope, Brooklyn near Prospect Park called Jack Rabbit. I wanted to do a fitting for new running shoes. I have been running in the Mizuno Wave Inspire 9s for a year now, have 3 pairs (1 retired, 1 almost ready for retirement, and 1 that is 4 months old…I rotate between 2) and I really like them, but kind of wanted something different in the mix. And I wanted to do a running store fitting (where they analyze your gait by video taping your feet running in each shoe on the treadmill and watch it in slow motion) because I was wondering if I still needed stability shoes for overpronation or if I could try something neutral. The employee doing my fitting thinks I still need stability shoes, and said the Inspire is a good match for me but had some other recommendations of things I could add to the rotation. He put me in Asics Kayano 20s and OH MY GOD…..heaven in a shoe. They are more expensive than the Inspires but I absolutely fell in love with them. So supportive and feels great! And pretty too:

Image

I could not resist the temptation to take them for a spin IMMEDIATELY. To volunteer at the race I had worn several layers of winter running clothes under my coat anyway since I figured those were the warmest and most comfortable things I owned for standing outside for 5 hours…..so I took off my coat, scarf, furry vest, and ear muffs, swapped my boots for my new shoes, and returned to Prospect Park (one of my favorite places to run!) and took the new shoes for their first run! I did 2 miles of run/walk intervals. It started snowing during the run, but I didn’t care. I had new kicks on my feet and I was running OUTSIDE for the first time in SEVEN WEEKS! I was so happy!

First run outside in 7 weeks “selfie”….

I was happier than I look but my face was frozen so my smile isn’t as big as it felt haha:

Image

So, a new medal hanger, fun volunteering at a race, new running shoes, and my first outdoor run in 7 weeks. Not too shabby for getting myself over a bad day 🙂

6 responses to “A Hodgepodge of Good Things: New Medal Hanger, Volunteering at a Race, New Running Shoes, First Outdoor Run in 7 Weeks

  1. Scott D. says:

    Congrats on moving forward, however fast or slow you need to. My running mantra is “My race, my pace.” It’s what I say when things get tough in a race and in life. You go at whatever pace you need to for your recovery because that’s a “marathon” too. Be strong at the finish. And cool on volunteering…must be a good feeling. Oh, and I got one of those medal hangers from the same company. Cool aren’t they? Run on!

  2. kristin10185 says:

    Thanks, Scott! I know I have to think long term with the recovery….it is a marathon not a sprint. I want to run healthy for a long long time!

    And yeah I am really happy with the quality of the medal hanger… I love it!

  3. You are awesome! Keep going. You are doing great. I love your medal holder, it is beautiful. I am running my first half (ever) in May and I am so excited to get my first medal, so eventually I will need a hanger as well. It is always great to give back and makes any day feel better. Enjoy the rest of the weekend.

Leave a Reply

